SID SHAH: LIVE

Ran my first competitive 5k today……and felt alive

leave a comment »

I have never run a competitive 5k, race, or anything like that probably since high school. My life over the last 15 years has been spent in airports, airplanes, hotels, night-clubs, business school, client meetings — working ungodly hours and doing the bare minimum to keep in shape.

I never quite understood the running or triathlon culture because I have always thought running was so boring. One of my friends Tim Mosa has been doing them for the last 10 years and is as passionate about running as he is about the Dodgers, but I still wasn’t convinced, even though we had a very similar and erratic schedule/lifestyle. Recently I became good friends with Dee Murthy who out of nowhere decided to do a Triathlon (he has had no previous marathon or triathlon experience), he just wanted to get his life a bit more focused, so he signed up. He trained, executed, and successfully completed his goal. His lifestyle and gene pool are more like mine, so when I heard his story I suddenly felt motivated to give it a try. So, without biting off more than I can chew, I signed up for a local 5k.

Training for the 5k over the past few weeks was amazing, I felt alive, and my life, business, and personal life was suddenly more focused. It affected everything around me, and is a much different experience than going to the gym for an hour or doing p90x. It is different because it is goal-oriented; you are working towards something that you have not attained before much like you are doing in life, so the milestones parallel each other. I think that is why it is such an invigorating experience.

Signing up for a mini-triathlon in September…

Written by Sid Shah

May 22, 2010 at 6:13 pm

Posted in People, Places

Leave a Reply

